What is your favorite thing about being a mom? What I love most is that motherhood is forever changing. It is not static and is never a straight line (at least with my kiddos). Every day is unique. What we connect about one day isn’t the same as the next. Their minds are exploding with all that they are learning and doing, and I get to ride the wave the best that I can and try to slow down enough to be a part of their adventure. It is an awesome gift to be a parent.

What is your least favorite thing about being a mom? Whining.

Motherhood is full of surprises, what is one thing that has surprised you the most about being a mom? I think that I continue to be surprised that my kids are their own people. There was a piece of me that expected to birth mini me’s. But, my girls are so totally and uniquely themselves. I am currently learning how to let go of MY vision of what they “should be” and fully embrace the reality of who they are. Case and point: Recently my 6 year old came downstairs on a chilly day wearing a tank/shorts romper. Because it was cold, she had put leggings on underneath the romper. I looked at her and said, “Honey, you don’t wear leggings under a romper. It looks weird.” Without a beat she said, “Mom, I do. This is MY style and I like it.” Ummm. #schooledbymy6yearold

Do you have a career? Not in a traditional sense. I don’t bring home an income. My husband and I run a non-profit called Baja Love Outreach. We provide supplementary aid and help empower 120 orphans at 5 orphanages in Baja California, Mexico. To help fundraise, I hand-make beaded jewelry and donate 100% of the proceeds to the nonprofit to help fund its programs. Then there is being room mom, etc. So, I DO work a full time job, it simply looks a bit different.

If so, any advice you can share on balancing the work/family life? Ha ha. I am a work in progress on this subject. I’d say don’t do what I do which is work straight through the night binging on Netflix while hand-making jewelry. This year is my year of learning balance. It ‘s only February right?
 
Give us your “inner Yoda” advice. What is that one thing you want to share with other moms? I would say this. Your version of healthy/happy/normal does not need to look like anyone else’s. None of us (not our family, our kids or we as Moms) need to fit in to a “typical” mold. Let go of the illusion of perfection. Embrace average occasionally. We can’t do it all! Let the dishes sit so you can enjoy time as a family. Foster creativity. Love your kid’s THEMNESS. Last, I would say that amidst the craziness of juggling life, find the time to pause every day, look your beloveds in the eyes and talk to them. There is only one today!
When not with your kids, what do you like to spend time doing? Beading jewelry, working out, watching too much Netflix, enjoying time with my hubby and my closest friends…

Date night: Any great finds or places you like on date night? We are creatures of habit, and tend to stay close by. If it’s just the 2 of us, it is Habanas or The Corner. Pretty much anywhere we can make eye-contact, enjoy a good meal and a glass of wine without Nickelodeon playing in the background is considered a great date for us.

What’s for dinner? Ha. Depends who you are asking! We are the family where everyone eats their own thing. Someday I might master the family dinner thing, but for now, we each eat something slightly different. My fridge is stocked with healthy options.

Five year plan. Where do you see yourself five years from now?  Let’s see, in 5 years I have a teen (gah!!!) and a tween. I just hope to be holding on! No, really… I would love to see Baja Love Outreach growing from helping 5 orphanages to 10. I would love to have a better handle on my work/life balance. I look forward to more international adventures with my family. I’d love to see myself taking things a little less seriously and living, learning and loving even more. Most importantly I hope to have found a bathing suit that actually fits me.

I am a Midwest girl living in California. I love my husband Kent for embracing me exactly as I am and being the yin to my yang. I love being a Mom to my beautiful, crazy, funny and loving girls. I have awesome friends, an unbelievable and very patient family, and a great church community. I am so blessed to be a part of 120 orphaned kids’ lives. To laugh with them, play with them and just let them know that they are seen and loved is a huge gift to myself and my family. I love to be creative, and at the moment that is expressed through jewelry making (gemstone beads are my thang). I love to work out and feel strong. I have an abnormal love for Netflix, peanut butter, work out gear and second hand clothing stores. Maybe not in that order. I am so grateful to be featured, so thank you OC Mom Mag

How many kids? 2 amazing girls Skyler and Sierra


What ages? 9 and 6 years old

What city do you live in? Huntington Beach

Meet Chappell Ferrin

Subscribe