I’m a mom-like most just trying to balance my family and my career. I love what I do and I work close to home so it makes being away from my daughters a little easier.  I truly think it takes a village to raise kids and I’m so fortunate to have such great family and friends to help guide our family. 

Meet Katie Eing

When not with you’re kids, what do you like to spend time doing? I like to travel with my husband and friends.
 
Date night: Any great finds or places you like on date night? Yes! There is a great ramen and yakitori place called Shin-Sen-Gumi Hakakata Ramen in Fountain Valley.  They always have a wait so you know it’s good. 

What’s for dinner?  My husband is a firefighter so if it’s just the gals and me, we sometimes eat breakfast for dinner (guilty pleasure).  If Daddy is home we usually BBQ.
  
Five year plan. Where do you see yourself five years from now? I see myself being more involved in my children’s school so I can be with them more.  

How many kids? 2   What ages? 7 and 4

What city do you live in? Huntington Beach

What is your favorite thing about being a mom? I love to snuggle in the morning with my girls.

What is your least favorite thing about being a mom? Taking them to Costco because they want everything. 

Motherhood is full of surprises, what is one thing that has surprised you the most about being a mom? I was actually surprised that I could love my second child as much as I loved my first. A mother’s heart expands in an unimaginable way when you have children.

Do you have a career? Yes, I have worked for the City of Newport Beach as their Emergency Services Coordinator for the past 12 years. My position is responsible for preparing all 700+ City employees for all emergencies and disasters.  I also work with FEMA, the State and many OC government agencies and nonprofits to ensure we are prepared and ready to respond to the community

If so, any advice you can share on balancing the work/family life?
ADVICE: Turn off your cell phone during dinnertime so you can have uninterrupted time to chat and discuss the day with your kids.

Give us your “inner Yoda” advice. What is that one thing you want to share with other moms? Life is so busy but try and slow down every once in a while to enjoy the sweet moments. 

Subscribe