Name:  Keri Pommerenk

 How many kids? What ages?  2 beautiful kids – Evan 10 yrs & Ellie 7 yrs

What city do you live in?  Huntington Beach

What is your favorite thing about being a mom?  My favorite thing about being a mom is the pure adventure of it.  It’s like being on a crazy whitewater rafting trip that lasts for years and years!  Some days are calm and scenic and others are full of turmoil and terror, but we survive and it’s always a good time in the end.

Meet Keri Pommerenk

What is your least favorite thing about being a mom?  I feel a little guilty about saying this, but I’m going to be honest.  I don’t appreciate always being tethered to my kids and their needs.  I miss the freedom and spontaneity of my life before kids.

Motherhood is full of surprises, what is one thing that has surprised you the most about being a mom?  I’m surprised I don’t just like being a mom, I actually love it!  Dare I say, I never really had the desire to have kids.  After meeting my fabulous husband Steve in my early 30’s, I began to warm up to the idea of having kids.  I knew if I were to have kids with him, he would be a 100% equal partner and an amazing father.  Now, 11 years and 2 kids later, I couldn’t imagine my life without them.  I truly love participating in my kids lives and helping them grow into unique individuals.

Do you have a career?  Yes, I own a lice removal salon in Huntington Beach.  It’s called All Gone Lice Salon.  (www.allgonelicesalon.com)  I can thank my kids for this career.  A little over 3 years ago my family had our first experience with lice!  I had no idea what to do.  My sister found a “lice lady” who rid us all of lice in one treatment, in one day.  We were so thankful and grateful for her services.  A few years later my job situation changed and I was left trying to figure out what I could do next.  Then lice hit our family again and a light bulb went off.  I thought, “I can do this!”  So here I am, a certified lice removal technician, picking and combing head lice everyday.  For most people lice is disgusting and gross, but surprisingly I love being a “lice lady”.  It’s super rewarding helping so many kids and families.

If so, any advice you can share on balancing the work/family life?  Being able to give my kids my time is the greatest gift I can give them.  Living in Orange County, so many of us need to be dual-income households, so my advice is to be creative and choose a career/job that will maximize your time with your kids while they are young.  Also, get a house cleaner…life is so much better when you don’t have to clean your own house!!!

Give us your “inner Yoda” advice.  What is that one thing you want to share with other moms?  Our kids learn how to be and to live based on what we do and how we live.  I keep this in the forefront of my mind.  It helps me be a better person knowing that my kids are constantly watching me and the things I do or don’t do.  Also, Friday Night Cocktails in the backyard with your husband can fix a bad week or make a good week even better.

When not with your kids, what do you like to spend time doing?  It seems these days I’m always with my kids.  Our weeknight and weekend activities usually involve the kids.  When I do get a few hours here and there, I like hiking, knitting, veggie gardening, cooking and hanging out with my husband.

Date night: Any great finds or places you like on date night?  My favorite “date night” isn’t actually at night, it’s during the day.  My husband and I have way more fun packing a lunch and going hiking or kayaking than we would sitting in a restaurant.  When we do get a free night without the kids, we usually do something exciting like order Silk Thai for delivery, drink margaritas and watch Netflix documentaries on the couch.

What’s for dinner?  Dinner is important for me, I like to cook and eat!  We rarely eat out and everything’s usually homemade.  My favorite weekday dinner is a big pot of soup with corn muffins or garlic bread.  Other favorites are: tacos, big salads, pesto pasta, chili, and Trader Joe’s orange chicken.

Five year plan.  Where do you see yourself five years from now?  Gosh, I really don’t anticipate my day to day life changing much.  In 5 years, my kids will be in middle school and high school, that’s exciting to think about.  I’m sure our family will have traveled and hiked many miles and experienced more than I could even try to imagine here.  I’m extremely grateful for the life I’ve created and I know it will only get better and better.

I’m an Orange County born and raised 43 yr old identical twin, hiker, camper, home birther, napper, baker, wine lover, knitter and gardener.  I’m thrilled to be a PTA Mama and a Cub Scout den leader.  I’m a huge believer in the power of positive thinking and manifesting the life you want.  I don’t have much tolerance for complainers, gossipers, whiners, negative thinkers or litter bugs.  I’m thankful for being given the opportunity, with my husband, to help guide and raise 2 amazing beings.  A few of my favorite quotes are: “Be the change you want to see.”, “You can’t live a positive life with a negative mind.”, “Get rid of the good, make way for the great.”, “Give a Hoot, Don’t Pollute.”, “If you can dream it, you can achieve it.” and “If you always do what you’ve always done, then you’ll always get what you always got.” 

Subscribe